Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search
News & Press: Press Releases

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School is the 2016 PAGE GAD State Champion

Sunday, February 28, 2016  
Share |




Contact: Lynn Varner, Manager

PAGE Foundation Public Relations

800-334-6861 /


Click for a printable pdf version.



Catoosa County’s Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School won the 2016 PAGE Georgia Academic Decathlon (GAD) State Championship. It is the sixth time that the high school has captured the event’s top honor. The team scored the highest points overall in Division I and II and was presented the Howard Stroud Championship Trophy.  This year’s two-day academic competition was held on Feb. 26 and 27 at Berkmar High School in Gwinnett County.  Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe is a Division II, or small-school (based on school population size) participant, and will be submitted as the Georgia representative to the annual U.S. Academic Decathlon (USAD) National Competition, which will be held April 28-30, 2016, in Anchorage, Alaska.


Division I (large school) winners include:  Division I Champion Gwinnett County’s Parkview High School, coached by Melodie Carr, Dave Steele and Samantha Wells; First Runner-up Gwinnett County’s Berkmar High School, coached by Christopher Pae; and Second Runner-up Carroll County’s Villa Rica High School, coached by Cynthia Cox, Sarah Triplett and Russell Bennett. Division II (or small school) winners include:  Division II Champion Catoosa County’s Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School, coached by Lisa Beck and Ian Beck; First Runner-up Muscogee County’s Shaw High School, coached by Natasha Torres and Alice Mendez; and Second Runner-up Richmond County’s A. R. Johnson Health, Science and Engineering Magnet School, coached by Dr. Amanda Litfin and Philip Grabowskii.  The U.S. Academic Decathlon also sponsors an Online National Competition for Small, Medium and Large Schools, based on student school population size, which will be held in conjunction with the national finals competition in April.  Parkview High School will represent Georgia in the Large School Online Competition; Shaw High School will represent Georgia in the Medium School Online Competition; and A. R. Johnson Magnet School will represent Georgia in the Small School Online Competition.


The state competition is sponsored by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE), the PAGE Foundation, the Chick-fil-A Foundation and Oglethorpe Power. Kennesaw State University serves as a partner with the PAGE Georgia Academic Decathlon by hosting and providing expert speakers for the GAD Fall Workshop and providing and coordinating the more than 200 volunteers needed during the state championship competition.  The Gwinnett County Public Schools system serves as host.  Fox 5 News Chief Meteorologist David Chandley served as Master of Ceremonies for the GAD Awards Banquet, during which the highest-scoring students were awarded both team and individual medals in various competition categories.


Approximately 200 high school students from 23 high schools representing 13 school districts competed in the academic event.  During the competition, students were tested in seven content areas:  economics, art, language and literature, mathematics, science, social science and music.  In addition, students earned points individually in three communication events:  public speaking, personal interview and written essay.  The program is unique because each nine-member team is made up of three "A", or Honor students; three "B", or Scholastic students; and three "C", or Varsity students.  Each year the program features a different overall curriculum topic.  “India” is this year’s topic. 


On Saturday afternoon, students participated in the exciting Super Quiz, during which team members competed in a quiz bowl format, keying in answers to questions.  Charles Richardson, editorial page editor of The Telegraph newspaper in Macon and a PAGE Foundation trustee, was Master of Ceremonies.  During the GAD Awards Banquet, Richmond County’s Cross Creek High School was announced as this year’s Super Quiz Champion. Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School won First Runner-up honors, with Berkmar High School named as Second Runner-up. 


Richmond County’s Cross Creek High School, coached by Dr. Mike Price, captured “Rookie of the Year” honors.  The award is given to the highest-scoring team among those making their first appearance at state competition.


As a 501(c)(3) organization, the PAGE Foundation supports PAGE, encouraging and receiving charitable gifts that advance the association’s core business and PAGE Foundation programs such as PAGE STAR, PAGE Foundation Scholarships, the PAGE Academic Bowl for Middle Grades, the PAGE Georgia Academic Decathlon and PAGE TV. To learn more about the PAGE Foundation and to donate, please visit


Caption:  The 2016 PAGE Georgia Academic Decathlon State Champion Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School team members and their coaches are joined by award presenters at the PAGE GAD Awards Banquet.  Pictured here are: (front row, l-r) PAGE Foundation President John Varner, Coach Lisa Beck, Alaina Joyner, Valerie King, Selma Kajtazovic, Binal Patel, Traci Gray, Oglethorpe Power Community Relations Coordinator Mary Long and PAGE Executive Director Dr. Allene Magill; and (back row, l-f) Coach Ian Beck, John Christopher, Jacob Elliott, John Muina, Ben Harden, Addison Smith and Abigail Follett.  Long presented a $1,000 donation on behalf of Oglethorpe Power to the GAD State Championship team to help defray their travel expenses to the USAD Nationals Competition, which will be held in Anchorage, Alaska in April.



The Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE), the parent organization of the PAGE Foundation, is a statewide professional association of more than 90,000 teachers, administrators and support personnel. PAGE provides professional learning to enhance competence and confidence, build leadership and increase student achievement, while providing the best membership, legislative and legal services and support.



Team and individual medalists are listed on the State Winners page.


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal