Community Search
Print Page
Community Search
Region and State Winners
Share |

Please use the "More in this Section" drop down menu (above left) to navigate through all of the pages in the Academic Bowl section of the website.


Region Winners 2017-2018

The following schools are winners and runners-up from the regional competitions held on December 9 and December 16, 2017 (some regions had to be rescheduled due to inclement weather). 

The 24 winners are invited to participate in the PAGE Academic Bowl for Middle Grades State Championship Competition at Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville on January 20, 2018. 


(available photos will be posted soon)


Region 1 - 12/16/17

Host: La Fayette Middle School, La Fayette, GA
Regional Coordinator: Jamie Bloodworth

Winner -


Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -


Region 2 - 12/16/17

Host: ET Booth Middle School, Woodstock, GA
Regional Coordinator: Eliot Galyean

Winner -

Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -


Region 3 - 12/16/17

Host: Oak Mountain Academy, Carrollton, GA
Regional Coordinator: Jay Louttit

Winner -

Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -


Region 4 - 12/16/17

Host: Northview High School, Johns Creek GA
Regional Coordinator: Scott Fowler


Winner -


Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -



Region 5 - 12/16/17

Host: Chamblee Middle School, Chamblee, GA
Regional Coordinator: John Donegan

Winner -


Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -


Region 6 - 12/16/17

Host: North Gwinnett Middle School, Sugar Hill, GA
Regional Coordinator: Scott Johnson


Winner -

Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -

Region 7 - 12/16/17

Host: Hart County Middle School, Hartwell, GA
Regional Coordinator: Wilson Hein

Winner -


Winner -


Runner-up -


Runner-up -



Region 8 - 12/9/17

Host: Feagin Mill Middle School, Warner Robins, GA
Regional Coordinator: Kristy Yarbrough


Winner - Mossy Creek Middle School, Houston County Schools
Coach: Carol Kohn
Winner - Mount de Sales Academy, Houston Independent School
Coach: Keith Bartlett


Runner-up - Huntington Middle School, Houston County Schools

Coach: Jeff Knutson


Runner-up - Stratford Academy, Bibb Independent School

Coach: Susan Hanberry


Region 9

Host: Georgia Southwestern State University, Americus, GA
Regional Coordinator: Samuel Peavy

Winner - Aaron Cohn Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Coach: Rebecca Perez


Winner - Blackmon Road Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Coaches: Alicia Allen, Stacy Jenkins


Runner-up - Brookstone School, Muscogee Independent School

Coach: Amy Smith


Runner-up - Deerfield-Windsor School, Dougherty Independent School

Coach: Kim York


Region 10 - 12/9/17

Host: Thomas County Middle School, Thomasville, GA
Regional Coordinator: Heather Ward 


Winner - C.A. Gray Junior High School, Colquitt County Schools
Coaches: Brandi Nolan, Julie Craft


Winner - Waycross Middle School, Ware County Schools
Coach: Ashley King


Runner-up - Thomas County Middle School, Thomas County Schools
Coach: Gail Trotter, Heather Ward


Runner-up - Brookwood School, Thomas Independent School
Coach: Sarah Willey

Region 11

Host: Stallings Island Middle School, Martinez GA
Regional Coordinator: Deborah Hundt


Winner - Riverside Middle School, Columbia County Schools
Coach: Melissa Jenkinson


Winner - Stallings Island Middle School, Columbia County Schools
Coach: Deborah Hundt


Runner-up - Columbia Middle School, Columbia County Schools
Coach: Mary Cleary


Runner-up - St. Mary on the Hill Catholic School, Richmond Independent School
Coaches: Donna Skidmore, Barbara Lewis, Debbie Fain


Region 12

Host: West Chatham Middle School, Pooler, GA
Regional Coordinator: Alexander Roth

Winner - Savannah Country Day School, Chatham Independent School
Coaches: Sarah Kovensky, Laura Powers

Winner - St. Francis Xavier Catholic School, Chatham Independent School
Coach:Toni Tennant


Runner-up - Appling County Middle School, Appling County Schools
Coaches: Angela Morris, Melissa Lindsey


Runner-up - St. James Cathlolic School, Chatham Independent School
Coach: Robert Larcher


State Winners 2017

On January 21, 2017, the top twenty-four Regional Academic Bowl teams met at Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville to determine the PAGE Academic Bowl for Middle Grades State Champion.  Here are the eight finalists.

State Champion

South Forsyth Middle School - Forsyth County


Second Place

Aaron Cohn Middle School - Muscogee County


Third Place

River Trail Middle School - Fulton County


Fourth Place

Inman Middle School - Atlanta Public Schools


Fifth Place

St. Mary on the Hill Catholic School - Richmond County


Sixth Place

Hull Middle School - Gwinnett County


Seventh Place

Evans Middle School - Columbia County


Eighth Place

Dodgen Middle School - Cobb County


The final rankings for the remainder of the State Championship teams are listed below.

9th  Five Forks Middle School 17th  Willie J. Williams Middle School
10th  Richards Middle School 18th  Academy for Classical Education
11th  Franklin County Middle School 19th Feagin Mill Middle School
12th  Peachtree Charter Middle School 20th Oak Mountain Academy
13th  Westwood Schools 21st  Dalton Middle School
14th Lost Mountain Middle School 22nd Prince Avenue Christian School
15th St. Francis Xavier Catholic School 23rd Savannah Country Day School
16th Heritage Middle School 24th Austin Middle School

more News
There are currently no news items posted.
more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »




Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal